Home / SECSNMMI News / Two Nuclear Medicine Leaders to Receive Distinguished Service Awards from the Southeastern Chapter of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging


The Southeastern Chapter of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging will present Marshall Brucer Awards to two physicians who are longtime leaders in Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging. The Marshall Brucer Award is awarded in recognition of highly notable and distinguished service to the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI) and its Southeastern Chapter. Daniel J. Lee, MD, currently with the Oschner Clinic in New Orleans, will receive the Award for 2020 which was delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Scott C. Bartley, MD, DABNM, currently with the VA Medical Center in St. Cloud, Minnesota, will receive the Award for 2021.They are to receive their Awards during the Southeastern Chapter’s Virtual Annual Meeting scheduled for October 8-10, 2021.

With a Bachelor of Arts in Religion from Columbia College in New York and a Master of Arts in Religion from Yale Divinity School in New Haven Connecticut, Daniel J. Lee, MD went onto take Post-baccalaureate Premedical Studies at the Harvard and then received a Doctor of Medicine in 2001 from Albany Medical College in Albany, New York.  He completed an internship in Internal Medicine from the Berkshire Medical Center in Pittsfield, Massachusetts in 2002 and a residency in Nuclear Medicine from Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York in 2004.

Doctor Lee began his career at the University of Rochester in Rochester, New York while serving as attending physician at area hospitals.  In 2006, he moved to Atlanta, Georgia with the Emory University School of Medicine, where he served for 13 years. In addition to serving as attending physician are area hospitals, he was appointed the Director of the PET/CT Fellowship Program and Program Director for the Nuclear Medicine Residency and Nuclear Radiology Fellowship Programs at Emory.

In 2019, Doctor Lee became the Nuclear Medicine Section Chief at the Ochsner Medical Center and Nuclear Medicine Medical Director for the Ochsner Clinic Foundation in New Orleans, Louisiana. In addition to serving at an attending nuclear medicine physician at hospitals in Louisiana, Doctor Lee is also Senior Lecturer for the Ochsner Clinic / The University of Queensland in Australia.

Doctor Lee has been very active at the national level in the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, serving on many committees and task forces, much of it related to education and training. He has also coordinated and moderated many sessions at the SNMMI Annual Meeting.  Internationally he serves on the Advisory Board to The Health Policy Partnership (UK) on Radioligand Therapy: Building a Readiness Framework.

At the Chapter Level, Doctor Lee served as Program Chair for the 2010 Southeastern Chapter’s 2010 Annual Meeting.  He became the Secretary of the Chapter in 2011, President- Elect in 2012 and then President in 2013.  He continues to serve on the SEC Executive Council as the Chair of the Finance Committee.

Scott C. Bartley, MD, DABNM received a degree in Mechanical Engineering from West Coast University in Orange and Los Angeles, California.  He was awarded a Medical Degree from St. George’s University School of Medicine in St. George’s Granada followed by an internship at the Medical College of Central Georgia / Mercer University in Macon, Georgia.  He completed residency in Nuclear Medicine and a PET Fellowship at Emory University School of Medicine. He participated in the VA Healthcare Leadership Development Program in 2012-2013 and he is currently pursuing a degree in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Southern California in Los Angeles.

Doctor Bartley started his career as the Senior Associate of Radiology – Nuclear Medicine at Emory University, later becoming Associate Residency Program Director and then Residency Program Director for Nuclear Medicine and Nuclear Radiology. During this time he was also intermittently the Acting Chief of Service, Nuclear Medicine and Acting Associate Chief of Staff for Education for the Atlanta VA Medical Center in Decatur, Georgia and has been affiliated with the Veterans Integrated Service Network (VISN) ever since. He was detailed to the VA Central Office in Washington, DC to the Assistant Undersecretary for Health Operations and Management, Clinical Operations, where he was part of the Key Staff Financial Review Team and the Site Activation Team.  He also continued as the Staff Physician-Nuclear Medicine and later as the Assistant Chief of Staff for Medical Staff Affairs and Assistant Professor of Radiology-Nuclear Medicine for the Atlanta VA in Decatur.

Over the next few years, Doctor Bartley was called upon to serve as the  Acting Chief Medical Officer for the Southeast Network Offices in Duluth, Georgia, The Deputy Chief of Staff and Acting/Interim Chief of Staff for the VA Tennessee Valley Healthcare System in Nashville and Murfreesboro, Tennessee, the Acting Primary/Specialty Care Director  for the Central Iowa VA Healthcare System in Des Moines, Interim Chief of Nuclear Medicine and the Associate Chief of Staff for Credentialing and Privileging Serves for the Atlanta VA.

In 2017 Doctor Bartley was appointed Acting Chief of Staff for the St. Cloud VA Health Care System in St. Cloud, Minnesota, then Chief of Imaging and Associate Chief of Staff for Education until he reached his current position of Chief of Staff and Member of the Medical Emergency Radiological Response Team.

A specialist in Coding and Reimbursement, Doctor Bartley has served in a number of coding and reimbursement capacities for the SNMMI, dating back to 2009, and is currently serving a second term as Chair of the Coding and Reimbursement Committees for the SNMMI and the American College of Nuclear Medicine (ACNM).  Bartley also serves as the Chair of the Government Affairs Committee for the Southeastern Chapter.  Also for the Southeastern Chapter, Bartley served as Program Chair for the 2006 Annual Meeting, Treasurer for 2007-2009, President-Elect in 2009-2010 and President in 2010-2011.

The Marshall Brucer Award is given annually at the Southeastern Chapter meeting to a chapter member who has dedicated their life to the specialty of nuclear medicine and given distinguished service to the chapter.

There are few people who, during a lifetime, make a substantial impact on a specialty in medicine.  The Southeastern Chapter was fortunate to have had such a person amongst its members – Marshall Brucer.  He was an author, storyteller, and educator, and almost single-handedly organized and formed the Southeastern Chapter of the Society of Nuclear Medicine.  For all his contributions to the specialty and the Society, the Marshall Brucer Award was created in 1991.

#   #   #